Related Organizations

Links of Interest


The 22ndAnnual UAMTE Conference
was held   


on March 18, 2023
Weber State University

The Keynote Speaker was

Dr. Dorothy Y. White

University of Georgia



Purpose of UAMTE

The Utah Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (UAMTE) was created to provide a forum for mathematics teacher educators to communicate with each other and communicate with other groups who are interested in the teaching of mathematics in the state of Utah. Mathematics teacher educators are university and college mathematics education faculty, mathematics faculty, education faculty, and mathematics district specialists from public school districts.


UAMTE was organized on March 16, 2001 at a gathering of mathematics teacher educators from across the state of Utah. The gathering was held at Brigham Young University and sponsered by BYU's Department of Mathematics Education, College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences and the College of Education. Although the name of the organization may indicate that we are affiliated with the national organization of the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (AMTE), at the time of the creation of UAMTE, the AMTE had no formal affiliation process. Subsequently, AMTE adopted such a process and UAMTE became the second affiliate organization on June 16, 2003.

 2023  Shawn Broderick  Melissa Quinn  Becca Roberts
 2022  Debra Ward  Shawn Broderick  Tenille Cannon
 2021  Don Busenbark  Debra Ward  Tenille Cannon
 2020  Amanda Cangelosi  Don Busenbark  Sherly Rushton
 2019  Amanda Cangelosi  Don Busenbark  Sherly Rushton
 2018  Jim Brandt  Amanda Cangelosi  Sheryl Rushton
 2017  Dawn Teuscher  Jim Brandt  Beth McDonald
 2016  Vessela Ilieva  Dawn Teuscher  Beth McDonald
 2015  Eric Rowley  Vessela Ilieva  Kate Johnson
 2014  Doug Corey  Eric Rowley  Kate Johnson
 2013  Maggie Cummings  Doug Corey  Dawn Teuscher
2012 Elaine Tuft Maggie Cummings Dawn Teuscher
2011 Blake Peterson Elain Tuft Jonathan Bodrero
2010 Brynja Kohler Blake Peterson Damon Bahr
2009 Emina Alibegovic Brynja Kohler Dave Brown
2008 Christine Walker Emina Alibegovic Kelly MacArthur
2007 Lorel Preston Christine Walker Clare Banks
2006 Keith Leatham Lorel Preston Gina Post
2005 Tamas Szabo Keith Leatham Marty Larkin
2004 Sonia Woodbury Tamas Szabo Keith Leatham
2003 Blake Peterson Sonia Woodbury Marty Larkin
2002 Damon Bahr Blake Peterson Lorel Hunke
2001 Blake Peterson Damon Bahr Jennifer Hooper